Kbsa agm and awards 0472

The Kitchen Bathroom Bedroom Specialists Association (Kbsa) has announced the 2016 Kbsa Designer Award winners.

Presented at the annual Kbsa networking dinner on 27 September 2016, which took place following Kbsa’s AGM and national conference, the two headline accolades went to Aileen Thomson of Kitchens International and Chris Smith of in-toto kitchens (Southport) who won the Kitchen Designer of the Year awards in their categories for Under £30k and Over £30k respectively.

Other notable winners included Stuart Irving of Ablutions Luxury Bathrooms, who won the Bathroom Designer of the Year award, and Angus Mackintosh of Edinburgh Kitchen Company (EKCO), who picked up the Young Designer of the Year prize.

Kitchen Concept Designer, Bathroom Concept Designer and Kitchen Concept Student Designer of the year went to Laura Baxter of Kitchens International, Rebecca Brown of The Kitchen Showroom and Grace Stonehouse of Roundhouse Design respectively.

Ruth Ward of the KBSA said: “There were some fantastic designs. We are delighted with the level of entries this year. I think this shows how important these Awards have now become for our members, especially as all designs are judged anonymously which make the Kbsa awards different from many of the kbb competitions. Thanks to all those who entered and to our judges and sponsors.”

Also announced were the Kbsa Supplier Awards, with Best Product Supplier of the Year going to joint winners Miele and Mereway Kitchens.

Best Training Provider of the Year was awarded to NEFF, and the award for Best Display Support was once again awarded to Cosentino for its Silestone brand.

Kbsa corporate chair, Malcolm Scott, added: “These awards are genuinely deserved, as they are voted for by Kbsa retailers, and are therefore based on the actual performance of these brands. It is always a great pleasure to reward those brands that do support the independent specialist directly, and this year’s winners should be proud of their recognition.”